What to do with Greens

Summer Rambo

So what is it… are you supposed to Eat your greens or stand in them?

I like to do both, and more!  I like to eat my greens – provided they are sautéed or embedded in cheese – smell my greens – so many have mellifluous scents that tickle my nose – and stand in my greens – like I did earlier today. Just look how the vines frame my body; I am standing on a green pedestal (no fear of heights for me) and the vines form a frame leading up to a set of lights. Can you imagine how I’d look at night?! I know I give off a certain inner glow – but when those lights turn on – I’d be spectacular!

I don’t pretend to have a green thumb, as I don’t have a thumb at all, but I am good with flowers and greenery in general.  Last Spring mom and I planted a number of herbs and they are perfect for adding that extra zing. A popular herb is Mint, delish and wonderful in an Arnold palmer. We had so much mint in fact, we started throwing it in everything from main dishes to salads. I may start making toothpaste. Mom found this great salad dressing recipe that combined balsamic vinegar with strawberries, mint and basil – pardon me while I stop drooling.

Besides it’s inherent beauty, Greens are great for standing in, when you want to add that element of surprise. For instance, I sneak behind some shrubbery and when mom or friends walk by I jump out and watch them jump – ha ha. Or I just growl lightly from my green inner sanctum of shrubs and everyone looks so bewildered.

All in all – greens are not only tasty, fun and decorative, but a great color. It is the color of the heart chakra, or Anahata – the fourth chakra of the body. In Sanskrit Anahata means unhurt, unstruck, and unbeaten (I bet those Sanskrit guys drink 7UP, the un-cola) I would like to embody those qualities – it would make me a type of super hero right? And all you have to do is have a heart or eat those greens. As Popeye and chorus would sing after eating a can of spinach:

He’s Popeye the Sailor Man, he’s Popeye the Sailor Man / He’s strong to the finich, cause he eats his spinach / He’s Popeye the Sailor Man!

Great, except let’s get those writers a spell check.

Leave a comment